What is BitGuard.exe and BitGuard.dll?

Another quick post. If you see BitGuard.exe running in the Windows Task Manager, chances are you have the “Application Manager” software by “PerformerSoft LLC” installed on your computer. The file is signed by a company called “MediaTechSoft Inc.”.

If you are looking for directions on how to uninstall BitGuard.exe you can do so from the Windows Control Panel.

If the BitGuard uninstaller is missing, or not doing its thing, have a look at this Youtube video which runs a freeware tool named “Free Fixer” to remove BitGuard. I haven’t tried this myself, but looking at the comments it seems to work:

Here are the scan result from VirusTotal for BitGuard.exe:

  • Avast Win32:BProtect-A [PUP]
  • GData Win32.Application.BHO.A
  • TrendMicro-HouseCall TROJ_GEN.F47V0913
  • Malwarebytes PUP.Optional.PerformerSoft.A
  • VIPRE InstallBrain (fs)
  • Kaspersky HEUR:Trojan.Win32.Generic
  • Sophos BProtector
  • McAfee Artemis!7F8BECFB26F2
  • McAfee-GW-Edition Artemis!7F8BECFB26F2
  • AntiVir APPL/BProtector.Gen
  • ESET-NOD32 a variant of Win32/bProtector.A

Currently I don’t know how BitGuard.exe and BitGuard.dll is distributed, but I’m assuming these two files are installed along with some browser toolbar.

Do you have BitGuard on your computer? Do you know how it was installed? Please share in the comments below.

October 9, 2013: Added YouTube video.

18 thoughts on “What is BitGuard.exe and BitGuard.dll?

  1. Pingback: ThumbnailExtractionHost.exe constantly crashes

  2. What I have is BitGuard as the programme name and the publisher is MediTechSoft Inc. I would like to uninstall it. I think it was installed when I downloaded and installed Babylon Toolbar not knowing that it is unreliable and problematic. I’ve uninstalled the Toolbar. And it has asked me to uninstall two other programmes – one of which is the BitGuard. Unfortunately, I can’t remember what the other is! Any idea?

  3. Message i get every minute or so:
    Application Manager:
    szAppName : BitGuard.exe szAppVer : 2.6.1673.238
    szModName : BitGuard.exe szModVer : 2.6.1673.238 offset : 000f38c2

    tried to uninstall but no where to uninstall in control panel. looked into file folder shows a shortcut to uninstall but that leads nowhere. Installed a zip program called revo something, it couldnt find the file to remove either. It did work on other programs thou (delta toolbar). Any help would be appreciated. I am not a computer dummy but this one has me ready to take to a repair shop.
    thanks

    • Fixed this lstngt, removed the delta chrome extension and then ran a quick scan with avast and it found the virus and moved it to the virus chest, so far so good. Hope this helps also.

  4. bitguard was installed on my computer with youtube music downloader, despite using custom install and declining all offered crapware license agrements.

  5. I managed to remove it by searching my system for “bitguard” (without quotations), in the results I found an uninstall file located in the bitguard folder in C:\Documents and Settings\all users\Application data\bitguard (the location is from memory, so it migt be slightly different), first nothing happened, so I tried the shortcut file (the uninstall file with the file extension .lnk) which I don’t think was in the same folder but it was obviously a link the the same file, anyway that asked for a capcha code with a message along the lines of ‘are you sure you want to uninstall bitguard?’ i typed the code and pressed enter, it looked like nothing happened, I rebooted and searched for bitguard again and it was gone.
    Then I opened firefox and a plug-in called Delta had been installed, I removed that via add and remove programs and manually searched for and deleted the files containing the word delta that were created at the exact date and time that bitguard was installed. I hope that helps.

  6. I checked my Programs and saw BitGuard listed there. When I moused over BitGuard it had a shortcut to uninstall and it did so quickly and unobtrusively. It’s no longer showing up in my Task Manager and I didn’t even have to restart. I am running XP so for other OS users, I’m not sure if this will be an option for you. Good luck!

  7. It seems that bit guard defends my computer against bit aggressions. That’s the reason why I keep it bounded to avast software’s in a free version. Cordialy. Mat

    • @mat: Please right-click on your copy of BitGuard.exe and choose Properties. There’s all the details you need to determine if your copy belongs to the Avast Antivirus or if its part of the PerformerSoft/MediaTechSoft BitGuard software described in this blog post.

      Please tell us know what you find out.

  8. Obviously I installed an additional codec packages (k-lite Codec Pack 10.0.5 Full). This package was free and save. But after this installation it requested the installation of the latest updates. By this way the Delta Toolbar, Delta Crome Toolbar and the BitGuard were installed without any prompt. Antivir found the “APPL/BProtector.Gen” in BitGuard.exe, BitGuard.dll and many other running applications on my computer.
    Removal was quite simple: I deinstalled the codec package, Delta Toolbar, Delta Crome Toolbar and BitGuard using the Windows Control Panel. It seems that my computer (Windows Vista) is clean again.

  9. I was trying to update a driver for a Kaiser Baas Photomaker. DriverUpdate.net said it had one – I was suspicious but was desperate. Always careful of these sites because they load all sorts of crap. And it did! Something called Doko Toolbar etc. When I was removing the driver for the Photomaker I noticed Doko and Bitguard and a couple of others loaded on the same day. They all removed except butguard. Did a search of the files and it found Bitguard and Uninstall Bitguard – but the uninstall didn’t have a link. So I removed the Bitguard folder and went into regedit and removed all the bitguard entries. Then I rebooted and had to clean up Chrome and Firefox which Bitguard had changed to use its own URLs. A bastard of a program from Mediatechsoft – someone should blow the mongrels up!!!

  10. Internet Explorer seems to have installed it upon first run of my fresh Windows install on a test machine. When the search function was used the first time – doko-search self installed itself, this, and other things.

Leave a Reply

